A Pushscroll alternative for walking instead of push-ups
Pushscroll and Schlep both lock the apps you pick, like TikTok and Instagram, until you earn time on them. Pushscroll earns it with exercise counted by pose detection. Schlep earns it with steps.
What Pushscroll costs
The Pushscroll listing on the US App Store shows the app as free to download and says a subscription is required for full access. On October 15, 2026 it listed a monthly plan at $14.99 and yearly plans at five different prices: $24.99, $29.99, $39.99, $49.99 and $59.99. It also listed a purchase named Pushscroll Access at $17.99. Because the same plan shows several prices, the price you see in the app may differ. The listing mentions a free trial and does not give its length.
Schlep costs $9.99 a month or $29.99 a year, billed by Apple. There is no free version.
Pushscroll, Schlep and Steppin side by side
| App | How it unlocks | Price |
|---|---|---|
| PushscrollPushscroll GmbH. 17,766 ratings. | 1 push-up for 1 minute of app time. Squats, lunges, sit-ups and other exercises count too. The listing also says daily steps from Apple Health earn minutes. | $14.99 a month; yearly plans listed from $24.99 to $59.99 |
| SchlepRK Labs, LLC. 3 ratings. | Steps only. 1,000 steps for 10 minutes on your locked apps. Easier gives 15, Strict gives 5. | $9.99 a month or $29.99 a year |
| SteppinBoston Venture Studio. 156 ratings. | Steps only. 100 steps for 1 minute of screen time, and you can change the goal. | Free |
Push-ups at home or walking
Pushscroll's listing says it counts reps with pose detection and lists push-ups, squats, lunges, jumping jacks, diamond push-ups, squat holds and sit-ups. It does not state a rate for steps.
Schlep counts steps, and every step counts from the first one. At the default rate, 1,000 steps earn 10 minutes on your locked apps. A normal walking pace is about 100 steps a minute, so 10 minutes of walking earns 10 minutes on your locked apps. The Easier rate gives 15 minutes per 1,000 steps and Strict gives 5. Easy mode starts each day with 30 free minutes, and Hard mode starts at zero.
Which one to pick
- Pushscroll if you want push-ups, squats or other exercise at home to earn your time.
- Schlep if you would rather walk and want a fixed rate for steps.
- Steppin if you want to walk for screen time and pay nothing. Its listing shows no purchases.
Schlep runs on Apple's Screen Time system and is for iPhone only. You spend minutes on your locked apps 10 at a time, from the locked app's lock screen or from the Home tab. See our comparison of walk to unlock apps for iPhone for more apps, or how Schlep locks your apps until you walk for the lock itself.
Questions
- How much does Pushscroll cost?
- On October 15, 2026 the US App Store listed a monthly plan at $14.99 and yearly plans at $24.99, $29.99, $39.99, $49.99 and $59.99. Prices vary, so check the price in the app before you subscribe.
- Does Pushscroll have a free version?
- The app is free to download. Its listing says a subscription is required for full access and mentions a free trial before the first charge. It describes no free tier.
- What is a free alternative to Pushscroll?
- Steppin is free and unlocks apps with steps instead of push-ups. Its default rate is 100 steps for 1 minute of screen time, and its website says it needs no account.
- Does Pushscroll count steps?
- Its listing says you can earn minutes from daily steps through Apple Health, and it does not state the rate. Schlep counts steps only, at a fixed rate you choose: Easier, Recommended or Strict.
- Is Schlep cheaper than Pushscroll?
- Schlep's monthly price, $9.99, is below Pushscroll's listed $14.99. Schlep's yearly price, $29.99, falls inside the range of Pushscroll's yearly prices, $24.99 to $59.99.